CSUN Set to Host 2021 Bill Cullum Invitational

09 Dec 2021 | 04:53 | Golf

Golfstat Live Scoring

NORTHRIDGE, Calif. – CSUN Men’s Golf is set to host the 25th annual Bill Cullum Invitational beginning Monday (Oct. 11) at The Oaks Club at Valencia. The event will span three days and 54 holes of stroke play.

Team scores will consist of the cumulative total of its four best scores out of five per round. The tournament kicks off with a practice round on Sunday, Oct. 10 and will be followed by 36 holes on Monday, Oct. 11 and a final 18 holes on Tuesday, Oct. 12.

The Tournament
This year’s tournament moves to The Oaks Club at Valencia following 25 years at Wood Ranch Golf Club in Simi Valley. This year’s field features 12 teams who will battle The Oaks Club course which will be a par 72, 7,115-yard layout.
The tournament kicks off with a practice round on Sunday, Oct. 10 and will be followed by 36 holes on Monday, Oct. 11 and 18 holes on Tuesday, Oct. 12. San Diego State won the 2019 team championship while the Aztecs’ Puwit Anupansuebsai won the 2019 Individual title with a tournament record score of (-18) 198. CSUN won its only team championship in 2008 while Nick Delio won the Matadors’ lone individual title in 2011.

The Field
The 12-team tournament field is comprised of Cal State Fullerton, Cal State San Marcos, CSUN, Hawai’i, Southern Utah, UC Irvine, UC Riverside, UC San Diego, UC Santa Barbara, Utah State, Utah Valley and Weber State.
Each school will field a team of five players with Cal State Fullerton, Cal State San Marcos, Southern Utah, UC Irvine, UC Riverside, UC San Diego, UC Santa Barbara, UCLA, Utah State, Utah Valley and CSUN fielding individuals whose score will not count towards team scoring. A total of 85 players are scheduled to compete.

The Course
The Oaks Club at Valencia, designed by PGA TOUR Design Services under consultation from two-time Major champion Mark O’Meara, offers 18 holes of challenging, breathtaking play. With sweeping views of the Santa Clarita Valley, the par-72 championship course is slated to play at 7,115 yards for the 2021 Bill Cullum Invitational.

The History
The 25-year old tournament recently changed its name to the “The Bill Cullum Invitational” after the legendary CSUN Men’s Golf coach.

In previous years, the tournament has been called “The Countrywide Invitational” and in 2006 was renamed “The Bill Cullum/Countrywide Invitational.” Bill Cullum coached the Matador men’s team from 1965 to 1986 and won three NCAA Division II golf championships and finished second twice. He was named NCAA College-Division Coach of the Year in 1969 and District Eight Coach of the Year in 1970 and 1971.

Under Cullum, the Matadors won eight California Collegiate Athletic Association championships from 1969 to 1977. Cullum was inducted to the Golf Coaches Association of America Hall of Fame in 1989 and the CSUN Athletics Hall of Fame in 2012. He passed away on July 12, 2003. Current CSUN Men’s Golf coach Jim Bracken played under Cullum from 1978-80.

All-Time Cullum Invitational Winners

2019 San Diego State 824** Puwit Anupansuebsai, SDSU 198 (-18)**
2018 Boise State 848 Brian Humphreys, BSU 205 (-11)
2017 Utah State 848 Derek Castillo, CSF 202 (-14)
2016 UC Santa Barbara 833 Jonah Texeira, USC 202 (-14)
2015 Loyola Marymount 842 Fidel Concepcion, SUU 207 (-9)
2014 USC 833 Jon Rahm, ASU 203 (-13)
2013 Cal State Fullerton 849 Daniel Chian, LBSU 206 (-10)
2012 San Diego 850 Jon Rahm, ASU 204 (-12)
2011 ASU, LBSU 853 Spencer Fletcher, ASU 208 (-8)
2010 UC Riverside 871 Nick Delio, CSUN 208 (-8)
2009 Pacific 843 Alex Johnson, PAC 207 (-9)
2008 CSUN 853 Tristan Bierenbroodspot, ASU 206 (-10)
2007 UC Santa Barbara 870 Brian Hollenbeck, UCSB 212 (-4)
2006 Loyola Marymount 873 Brian Locke, LMU 207 (-9)
2005 Holy Names 879 Charles Chae, HNC 211 (-5)
2004 St. Mary’s 845 Joe Lanza, SMC 208 (-8)
2003 CSU Stanislaus 859 Billy Moon, CSUS 209 (-7)
2002 Utah 867 Casey Fowles, Utah 208 (-8)
2001 UC Irvine 871 Brandon Hillpot, UCR 208 (-8)
2000 UC Irvine 886 Jeff Coburn, UCI** 215 (-1)
1999 Portland 877 Ryan Earl, POR** 217 (+1)
1998 Sacramento State 899 Naoya Takemoto, UCSB 214 (-4)
1997 UC Santa Barbara 908 Jon Morgan, Utah 222 (+6)
1996 Long Beach State 890 John Wurzer, LBSU 219 (+3)
* – Tournament Record
** – Won in Playoff


克洛普炮轰主裁:对我可能有意见 凯恩绝对该罚下

克洛普炮轰主裁:对我可能有意见 凯恩绝对该罚下

December 20th, 2021