Who is the star that replaces Djokovic to attend the Australian Open 2022?

17 Jan 2022 | 01:55 | Tennis


Djokovic has been officially dropped from this year’s Australian Open after losing his lawsuit and being expelled from the country. Immediately ATP announced the player to replace Nole.

Today’s hearing has reached its final conclusion. All three judges, including James Allsop, Anthony Besanko and David O’Callaghan, have unanimously decided that Djokovic will lose the case, which means that the Serbian tennis player will be officially expelled from Australia and missed his appointment with the Australian Open this year. now. There will be no further hearings after today’s ruling.

Salvatore Caruso selected to replace Djokovic

Salvatore Caruso selected to replace Djokovic

In addition to being deported, Djokovic will have to pay all costs related to this lawsuit. With this decision to be expelled, Nole will not be able to attend this year’s Australian Open.

Immediately, the ATP side announced that the player would replace Nole to attend the main draw of the tournament starting tomorrow, January 17. Accordingly, the world number 150 player Salvatore Caruso of Italy will be called to replace Djokovic, according to the “lucky loser” rate (losing in the qualifying round but still getting into the main round because another player withdrew).

Salvatore Caruso was born in 1992, once had the highest ATP ranking of 76th in November 2020. The career of this tennis player is nothing too outstanding. He has never won a tournament in his career, and is on the ATP tour winning streak of 19–43. Caruso’s best performance at the Australian Open is reaching the second round of 2021.

At this year’s Australian Open, Caruso had to qualify and stopped in the third qualifying round. However, luck smiled on this player when Djokovic was eliminated and he was chosen to replace the world No. 1 player.

According to the expected schedule, Caruso will replace Djokovic against rival Serbian Kecmanovic at about 16:30, Vietnam time on January 17.